UW-Stout Centers

The University of Wisconsin-Stout is home to over 21 research centers and laboratories – an integral part of the University’s experiential learning and polytechnic culture.
In this Section

The University of Wisconsin-Stout hosts extracurricular units to address basic and applied research; technical assistance; and knowledge and technology transfer. These units are commonly referred to as centers or institutes. They vary broadly in purpose and characteristics, from nascent program-based initiatives to highly integrated cross-disciplinary centers.

A UW-Stout center or institute is a financially sustainable unit comprised of two or more faculty or staff with expert capability and reliable capacity, focused on driving leading edge applied research and providing proven measurable technical assistance in their area of excellence. Financial sustainability is measured by the amount, source(s) and duration of extracurricular funding, including grant(s), contracts, donations or endowments. Areas of excellence are measured in the strategic mission, definition, depth, reputation and rigor of their expertise and their ability to contribute their expertise in collaborative cross-disciplinary activities.

To learn more about an individual center listed below, please visit the center's website or contact the center's director.

Academic and Student Affairs Division

Nakatani Teaching and Learning Center

403A Robert Swanson Library and Learning Center

Sylvia Tiala, Director


People Process Culture

443 Heritage Hall

Betsy Pudliner, Director


Discovery Center

Center for Applied Ethics

152 Vocational Rehabilitation Building

Kate Edenborg, Director

Center for Innovation and Development

132 Applied Arts

Randy Hulke, Interim Director

Mike Cropp, Project Engineer and FabLab Manager

Leadership Development Institute

278 Jarvis Hall Technology Wing

Randy Hulke, Interim Director

Manufacturing Outreach Center

278 Jarvis Hall Technology Wing

Larry Blackledge, Director

Sustainability Sciences Institute

278 Jarvis Hall Science Wing

Randy Hulke, Interim Director

Bill James, Research Scientist

Technology and Business Incubator

278 Jarvis Hall Technology Wing

Randy Hulke, Interim Director


College of Arts, Communications, Humanities and Social Science (CACHSS)

Center for the Study of Institutions and Innovation

56 Harvey Hall

Tim Shiell, Director


Writing Center

174 Harvey Hall

Kristin Risley, Co-Director

Kim Blomquist, Office Associate


College of Education, Hospitality, Health and Human Sciences (CEHHHS)

Center for Nutrition Education

205 Heritage hall

Kerry Peterson, Director

Child and Family Studies Center

109 Child and Family Study Center

Allison Feller, Director

Clinical Services Center

221 Vocational Rehabilitation Building

Dale Hawley, Director

Initiative for the Creation of the Center for the Study and Promotion of Health and Wellbeing

203 Heritage Hall

Cristy Linse, PH.D., Director

Psychology Student Center

470B Harvey Hall

Chelsea Lovejoy, Director

Stout Vocational Rehabilitation Institute (SVRI)

201 Vocational Rehabilitation Building

Kyle Walker, Interim Executive Director

Weidner Center

419 Heritage Hall

Fred Prassas, Director

Emerging Center for Career and Technical Education Excellence

225B Communication Technologies Building

Kathryn Feuerhelm, Interim Director


College of Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Management (CSTEMM)

Math Teaching and Learning Center

203 Jarvis Hall Science Wing

Laura Schmidt, Director

Amanda Larson, Coordinator